:: TEXTUAL ANALYSIS :: I LIKE WORD CLOUDS ::

As I (attempt to) whip up and polish two different results papers for upcoming submission, two musings have surfaced:

  1. First how best to encourage busy supervisor/co-authors to also “whip it up”? Do you have any techniques for  prompting yet not annoying?
  2. I am reminded of how soothing I find it to place a body of text (for instance a table of recommendations) into Wordle so I can make beautiful word clouds.
very complex data coming from multiple perspectives with many forms can become overwhelming feeling - but wordle helps me regain a sense of art within the science
Complex data coming from multiple perspectives with many forms can feel overwhelming to me – but the program “Wordle” helps me regain a sense of art within the science and control over the chaos.

On a related note, next week Tui and I will be worldschooling our way to LA for my first EDRA conference (that is, Environmental Design Research Association)!  Grammie will join us so they can cavort around the pool all day, while I present and network.  I had hoped to make it to the Providence conference two years ago, but as we were still in Sydney and making moving-back plans, the timing didn’t suit. I am very excited for this year, as the EDRAites are a group of thinkers and doers whose work I greatly admire and frequently cite.  I also hope to reconnect with peers from earlier days and scheme up some novel and paradigm shifting research plans for the future.  Plus, LA is a rather simple jaunt (knock on wood) compared to last years journey Tui and I made to Prague for the International Confederation of Midwives triennial conference!

Mindblowing anticipated…in reality and gently please, with lots of future work too, okay universe? =]

Until then, happy space, place and meaning making, my mates.

:DH

Leave a Reply

